web analytics

The Four Paths of Yoga

Raja yoga – the science of the mind.

The scientific approach, controlling the mind using yourself as a laboratory, testing, evaluating and dissolving negative memories. The sub-paths of Raja yoga are hatha yoga and kundalini yoga. Once the prana is mastered and the lower nature transformed the mind will come under control. Ghandi wrote ‘My experiments with the truth’ and this is a concept systematically explained in the yoga sutras.

Karma yoga – the yoga of action, selfless service.

Bhakti yoga – the yoga of devotion; of the heart.

Jnana yoga – the yoga of intellect.

The philosophical approach; the most difficult path but most direct.  Made  more difficult as we live in a more emotionally driven era. However, difficult times can prove to be the most fertile time for spiritual growth.

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
Yoga West London W1 © Copyright 2011 Pure Balance Yoga | Top ↑